natural living :: homemade exfoliating scrub (2 ways)

Whenever I say the word ‘exfoliation’, I just feel kind of pretentious.  I don’t really know why, it just seems so fancy  But, let me inform you of something, if doesn’t have to be.  Plus, it’s really important for healthy, glowing skin (two things I’m slowly working towards).

For some reason, these scrubs can be so expensive!  I’m not about to spend $20 on sugar scrub when I can make my own for approximately 6 cents. I’ve found 2 very simple ways to make your own scrub.  They are both easy, cheap, and of course, all natural!

Vscocam59

Honey and Sugar Scrub:

Put a generous pinch of brown sugar in the palm of your hand.  (The amount isn’t super important, maybe 1/2 tsp to 1 tsp depending on how much of the scrub you want to make at one time.  I usually just make enough for one use because it’s so quick to make.)

Then, drizzle honey (preferably raw, but I know it’s pretty expensive) onto the sugar until it forms a thick paste.  Massage gently onto a slightly wet face, chest, or back. Wait a minute or two. Rinse with warm water.

IMG_7893

Coffee Grounds Scrub:

This one is even easier, especially if you make coffee in the morning.  Simply take the used, wet coffee grounds and gently rub onto a slightly wet face. Then, rinse.

You can also mix ground coffee with a little olive oil and get a similar effect, but the ease of the already used and wet coffee grounds always wins when I have them.

 

Leave a Reply

