what she read :: the catcher in the rye

Maybe if I would have read this book as a 15 year old, I would have liked it better.  I feel like that’s when you need to read it, because, now that I’ve been out of all schooling for a couple years, I just feel like it’s old news.  However, I totally understand the function of this novel and think that it’s important to read.  Just read it sooner rather than later…

Picture 2

Follow the stream of consciousness of Holden Caulfield, a boy that just can’t understand the world around him.   He thinks he’s “too cool” for most people and is very judgmental of almost everyone, except his siblings.  The whole book only takes place over 2 or 3 days, which, for some reason, I like that aspect of it.  Just getting the smallest snapshot of life.

People never notice anything.

I’m quite illiterate, but I read a lot.

What really knocks me out is a book that, when you’re all done reading it, you wish the author that wrote it was a terrific friend or yours and you could call him up on the phone whenever you felt like it.

That’s the thing about girls.  Every time they do something pretty, even if they’re not much to look at, or even if they’re sort of stupid. you fall half in love with them, and then you never know where the hell you are.  Girls. Jesus Christ. They can drive you crazy. They really can.

Take the disciples for instance.  They annoy the hell out of me, if you want to know that truth.  They were alright after Jesus was dead and all, but while He was alive, they were about as much use as a hole in the head.  All they did was keep letting him down.  I like almost anybody in the Bible more than the disciples.

I mean you can’t hardly ever simplify and unify something just because somebody wants you to.

This fall I think you’re riding for, it’s a special kind of fall, a horrible kind.  The man falling isn’t permitted to fell or hear himself hit the bottom,  He just keeps falling and falling. The whole arrangement’s designed for men, who at sometime or other in their lives were looking for something their own environment couldn’t supply them with.  So they gave up looking.  They gave up before they ever really even got started.

After a while, you’ll have an idea what kind of thoughts your particular size mind should be wearing.

Don’t ever tell anybody anything.  If you do, you start missing somebody.

You know it’s funny, after typing out and rereading those quotes, I think I pulled more out of this book than I thought. Books are funny that way…

 

Leave a Reply

