natural living :: homemade acne toner and spot treatment

I’ve struggled with acne for a while.  Thankfully, the battle on my face only lasted a year or twp, but acne on my chest and back is a problem to this day.  It’s super frustrating.  I’ve tried everything, it seems.  I’ve gone to a dermatologist and have gotten so many different medications, creams, gels and none of them have really worked. At all.  So, going along with my all natural products, I’ve searched the Internet far and wide for some relief.  Here’s what I found…

On my face, I just usually do the OCM a handful of times a week and then use the spot treatment on pop up zits.  Then, I exfoliate with a homemade sugar and honey scrub once or twice a week.

On my chest and back, I use the toner, then smear a whole bunch of the spot treatment over the area because basically my chest and back are just a mess, a mess that’s being worked on.

I cannot tell you how amazed I am that this is slowly working. Now, it takes a while for it to fully clear up.  But, I am healing my skin from the outside in.  Plus, it’s important to keep the areas super clean (especially hard on my back) and not pick at them and I’m kinda bad at both of those things, so it’s taking a little longer than normal.  However, I am not completely discouraged yet because I’ve already seen consistent results.  I’m hoping that after all this effort that once it’s all gone, it’s gone for good.

6a0133f5e38810970b017ee9be77c4970d-800wi

Homemade Toner (also the same as my conditioner!):

2 TBSP apple cider vinegar
1 cup filtered water

To use, just put some on a cotton ball and rub over the affected area.

Homemade spot treatment:

1 oz jojoba oil
5-7 drops tea tree essential oil
5 drops lavender essential oil
small vial for storage (I used an old essential oil vial)

To use, I usually just dip a cotton swab in and dab onto the affected areas.

Like, I said, patience is key (at least for my skin type), but it’s been totally worth it!

 

Leave a Reply

