monday mornings // scones

I don’t know why everyone hates on Mondays so much. I kind of like them.  They kind of remind me of Spring, a new fresh start each week.  So, I’m going to celebrate Monday mornings each week and hopefully you’ll join me.  Who knows, maybe we can turn this whole negative Monday thing around?

This week, let’s talk about scones.  (Random, I know…)

For some reason, this past year, I got really into scone making.  I was making them almost every week and didn’t know how it got so out of hand…

It all started a few years back when a couple of friends decided to make scones one morning for my birthday.  I don’t know why we chose scones.  None of us had ever made them before, but lo and behold, scones were made. Every year since then, on my birthday, homemade scones are made. But, the scone love went beyond my birthday and the scone making flourished into a slight obsession. (I’ve cooled off a bit since 6 months ago)  But, yes, I do think about making scones much more often than a normal person.

So, basically, I’ve made well over a few scones in my day and I wanted to share one of my favorite recipes.

6a0133f5e38810970b017c37140ed4970b-800wi

Lemon Lavender Scones

recipe from here

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour plus more for surface
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon dried lavender buds
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/4-inch cubes
  • 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons buttermilk
  • 2 teaspoons finely grated lemon zest
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons sanding or granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups store-bought lemon curd, or make your own (super easy and much better tasting)

Preparation

  • Arrange racks in upper and lower thirds of oven; preheat to 425°. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper. Whisk 3 cups flour and next 5 ingredients in a large bowl. Add butter; rub in with your fingers until mixture resembles coarse meal.
  • Whisk 1 cup buttermilk, zest, and vanilla in a small bowl. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients. Stir until shaggy dough forms.
  • Transfer to a lightly floured surface; knead until dough forms, about 5 turns. Pat into a 10×6″ rectangle. Halve dough lengthwise. Cut each half crosswise into 4 squares. Cut each square diagonally in half into 2 triangles. Divide between baking sheets. Brush with 2 Tbsp. buttermilk. Sprinkle with sanding sugar.
  • Bake until scones are golden and a tester inserted into the center comes out clean, 13–15 minutes. Transfer to wire racks; let cool.
  • Serve warm or at room temperature with lemon curd.

Some tips…

-Keep your butter as cold as possible, freezing it works well.

-Keep the stirring to a minimum.  the less you stir, the flakier the scones will be.

-I like to add more than 1 teaspoon of dried lavender.  Doubling it works well.  Also, since lavender is a very delicate flavor, you could also add some lavender essence, if you can find it (10 drops per teaspoon of dried lavender)

Bake something this week. 

Leave a Reply

