a new name…

This past year has been a crazy whirlwind of events including moving back and forth between Indiana and Tennessee, traveling abroad to 4 different countries, and learning quite a bit more about myself.  Along with that, I felt that my blogging voice and maturity needed a bit of updating.  I feel like I have outgrown “Live What You Love” and what I set out for the blog to be.  I have definitely learned to live out things that I am truly passionate about with the blog being an absolutely huge outlet for me to do so.  But, with turning 25 this year (my, where has the time gone?), I felt that I wanted to move in a different direction with the big picture of my blog.

Now, I am still going to post about travling and outfits and all of the other things I find lovely, but with just a slightly different undertone. I don’t even know if this will even make sense to you, but it does to me and that’s why I have to do it.

Why ‘Almost Overnight’ for the new name?

Well, weird story actually.  During one episode of ‘Modern Family’, Mitchell said something that really resonated with me.  Now, I know that Modern Family is mostly a comedy, and a hilarious one at that, but this quote was quite serious and though provoking for me.  It has just stuck with me ever since I heard it.  Mitchel is consoling Manny after he was picked on and he says this:

“But this is the funny thing about growing up: for years and years everybody is desperately afraid to be different in any way, and then suddenly, almost over night, everyone wants to be different… and that is where we win.”

I believe there is a universality to that quote, which is why I like it so much.  So, here’s to making this blog different, yet staying true to who I am.  It’s a lot harder than it seems isn’t it?

I hope you will continue to follow the small part of my journey of life that is this blog.

Leave a Reply

