hippie life :: homemade natural toothpaste

The latest installment of the homemade beauty stuff…

So, if you don’t know, the toothpaste you buy in the store has sodium fluoride. It is put in there as a cavity prevention compound. But, some studies have shown that sodium fluoride can be toxic, especially when used in high quantities. It’s also one of the compounds that can be found in rat poison…

Now, I know that in “debates” like these, you have to choose your battles. This is just something that I want to rid my body of, really I just want to minimize all chemicals in my body. I do it because it’s really easy and most of the time, a lot cheaper than buying already made beauty products. I understand that not all people care or really think about this, and that’s completely fine. I’m just sharing my views on the subject.

Anyways, back to the toothpaste recipe…

Now, I’m warning you, this does not taste like store bought toothpaste. At all. It definitely takes a bit to get used to but it’s so stinking cheap AND it helps remineralize your teeth. The calcium powder in it actually helps your teeth become stronger and fight cavities naturally!

IMG_0340

5 parts calcium powder
2 parts baking soda
3-5 parts coconut oil
1 part sea salt
essential oils or extracts (optional, to taste : peppermint makes sense to me!)
stevia (optional, to combat bitterness)
dashes of cinnamon (optional, a recent favorite!)

1. Mix all the dry ingredients together.
2. Add the coconut oil 1 part at a time until smooth and creamy
3. Add essential oils/extract, cinnamon
4. Put into a sealed container. One with a wider mouth works better.

To use, just dip your toothbrush in the toothpaste and brush!

adapted from here

Like, I said, it’s quite different from the toothpaste you are used to and doesn’t give you that intense minty breath but, my teeth always feel clean and strong. Just give it a shot ๐Ÿ™‚

signature

Leave a Reply

