(late) wanderlust wednesday :: legend of the blarney stone

All of the sudden, I was hit with an intense desire to travel back to Ireland.  Like, it hit me hard and it took all I had in me not to impulsively buy a plane ticket (like I did when I bought my ticket to Turkey in November… haha).  Anyways, to channel these feelings, I decided to write a little something about Ireland today.

Blarney Castle is right north of Cork in southern Ireland.  It is one of the most visited locations in the country.  It dates back to around the year 1200.  I am still in awe when I think that I walked in and around this castle thats is over 800 years old.

At the top of this castle is the famous Blarney Stone.  Legend has it that when you kiss this stone, you receive the gift of gab (aka eloquence of speech or skill at flattery).  So this part is no secret, but how did this legend come to be?

The most accepted legend is that the builder of the castle, Cormac Laidir MacCarthy asked the goddess Cliodhna (goddess of love and beauty in Irish myths) for help when he was involved in a lawsuit.  The goddess told him to kiss the first stone he found in the morning on his way to court.  He did so then pleaded his case with such great eloquence and won.  After this victory, he incorporated it into his castle, where it still lies today.

It’s actually quite a simple little tale, but it has grown into a huge Irish tradition and tourist attraction.  How eloquent 😉

My heart truly misses this wonderful country.

Leave a Reply

