wanderlust wednesday :: in favor of walking tours

It’s no surprise that I love traveling alone.  But, that also means that sometimes, I need ideas and friends and things to keep me busy.  Enter walking tours.

Yes, at first, I was put off by them.  I didn’t want to be one of “those” tourists toting a huge camera whilst speaking in loud English (I’m still not one of those, but that’s the picture you get when you think of walking tours).  Thankfully, I got off my high horse, humbled down and did it.

And now there is not going back.  I’m in love.

#1. You learn. A lot.  Basically, a walking tour is kind of like a history lesson, but a really great one. You are seeing the history right in front of your face and you can’t help but be in awe.  Also, I’m a slight nerd, so any opportunity to learn is alright with me.  Plus, it makes your experience in that city so much richer, things just mean so much more.

#2.  You see. A lot.  Especially if you are only in a city for a day or two, it can be daunting to try and see what the city has to offer. A walking tour solves this, taking you to most of the “must sees”, plus a few more hidden things you probably wouldn’t have found on your own.

#3.  You meet people.  When the tour is over, most of the time some people are willing to grab coffee or a meal.  This is great for solo travelers like myself, who may find it hard to connect with people in a country where you barely speak the language. I’ve met some pretty great people and had great conversations about life and travel and the like.  It also is encouraging to meet people who view life the way that you do.

So, yeah walking tours are a pretty perfect way to experience a new city while traveling.  Plus, it’s really not expensive at all (you tip what you think the tour was worth, so it’s great for budget travelers like myself.

Sandemans New Europe is a tour company that has them in a bunch of different cities all over Europe.  They do a fabulous job.

Leave a Reply

