wanderlust wednesday :: savannah, georgia

Last summer was one of the busiest in my life.  I worked, interned, and took classes and literally had 36 hours off the entire summer.  During those hours, I took a (very) quick little trip to Savannah, GA with a friend.  The deep south is a relatively unexplored area for me, but it’s absolutely lovely.

Here’s some of a piece from my journal while I was there:

This city does something to me. It’s so magical and hazy and mysterious.  It’s confusing me and entrancing me at the same time.   I feel like this (very) spontaneous trip taught me a little about living truly free of myself.  The people here are genuine and true, so kind.  They are excited to share their lives and their stories.  The inspire me to be my truer self.  I feel like Savannah is a bit like me. It doesn’t try to hard.  It just is.  It’s full of beauty and wonder, yet not expecting anything from itself.  It’s genuine and carefree.  Everyone here loves life.  No matter what you look like or what you’re doing, everybody wants to talk to you and share in a little piece of your life in some way.  I also want to be in people’s lives.  No matter how small the part.  I want to experience as many people as I can and hopefully I’ll affect them as well.  It’s so good to get out of the mindset that I’ve stayed in for far to long.  To experience different people and places is to live, to open yourself up to new ideas and mindsets so the next time you get away, your mind will be even more open.  How completely wonderful.

There really is something enchanting about the south.  You can feel it in the air, breathe it in your lungs.  I think I was just in a dream the entire time I was there (although it could have been the driving through the night and no sleep…).

Just imagine driving into this at 3 in the morning after driving all night.  We were just in awe.

The town is just gorgeous.  Old beautiful buildings and trees everywhere.

There’s also little city parks about every other block.

The beach isn’t far away.  We went to a little place called Tybee Island and so enjoyed the ocean.

Back in town, we ate at the most precious little diner called Clary’s.

Then, we just walked up and down Victory Street admiring the buildings, houses, and atmosphere.

We stopped by Wormsloe Plantation, but, sadly, it was closed.  It looked quite wonderful though.

I can’t wait to go back and actually spend time there (that is more than 24 hours…)  There’s so much more I want to see and do.

3 thoughts on “wanderlust wednesday :: savannah, georgia

  1. That house is awesome! I love the stacked corner porches, just further motivation for me to own a house with more than 2 floors some day. I need at least 3 or 4 floors. And now I need multiple porches in one corner of the house, for drinking mint juleps and smoking pipes while watching fireflies on summer evenings.

Leave a Reply

