stood up :: outfit post

I’ve been doing a lot of reflecting lately.  Both past and present.  The thing about being 24 going on 25 is that the world is so open to me, but at the same time closed off.  I aspire to do great things, to use my gifts and passions to their fullest potential but I’m not always exactly sure what that means.  I want to do everything and nothing at the same time (inadvertent Michelle Branch lyric…).  I read a really brilliant article here. That has gotten my wheels turning even more.

I guess when I was thinking of my life at 25 when I was 15, I pictured it very differently. It was just the classic graduate college, get married, get my “dream job”, have kids.  It was what the world told me I wanted in my mid 20s.  Now, I’m not saying any of these things are bad to desire or to have at 25.  My heart absolutely aches for these things, but I am also so thankful for the way my life is progressing.  Yes, I’m super confused most of the time trying to figure out what my purpose and passions are, but it’s bliss to have this freedom, the chance at complete joy and happiness.

outfit details: sleeveless blouse – forever 21//sleeveless sweater – so old I don’t remember//skirt – american apparel//shoes – target

And they fought hard, but somewhere fighting failed
They’re all shook up, they’re all shook up
All shook up
Steel and concrete break
Beneath the steady waves 
Of fearless hope and grace
In kindness there is strength
Cos’ we are not frightened anymore, 
We stood up, we stood up
-a fine frenzy

4 thoughts on “stood up :: outfit post

  1. On New Year’s Eve 1999, I made a time capsule to open in 20 years. Well, I guess was a check box wrapped in tape. I think I even included a silica gel package from something, just to keep the moisture out. It’s still sitting in my parents’ closet. I don’t remember much of what I put in there, but I remember making predictions, and I think I saw 2020 me working at NASA and driving a Lamborghini. I’ve got a lot of stuff to get done in the next few years.

Leave a Reply

