re: relatively huge life changes

I’ve been kind of hinting at a (huge) change in my life recently.  Now that plans are finalized, I wanted to share and process through all of this on here.  Because I know you are just DYING to know whats up, I’ll tell you the end of the story first.

I’m moving back to Nashville.

It’s even weird for me to write that out and see it in black and white.  I still can’t believe that I’m actually moving back there.  It’s been a crazy whirlwind of a month with a very unexpected ending.

So, let’s rewind to the end of July.  I had been having a tough summer, just not feeling like myself.  I was uneasy about my future and trying to think too far ahead.  Then, I got a call from my previous internship in the music business.  They had a job opening up and wanted to know if I would consider taking it.  I was absolutely blown away.  It was just like a push off of a cliff (in a good way).  I took a few days before I decided I would love to consider it.  So, then, it was 2 weeks of waiting until the official interview.

But, here’s the catch, I couldn’t just wait that long to decide if I was moving back.  The job would probably start right at the beginning of September, so if I got the job, I would have to find a place to live, get someone to live in my house now, give my job now notice of leaving all in a week’s time.

So, I took the plunge and decided that I was moving regardless.  Things were falling into place quite nicely.  A spot was opening up at the amazing house I used to live in, my job found someone who wanted to come back and work full time, I had found someone to take (most of) my lease and a bunch of other little things that all pointed to Nashville.

Last week, I went down to Nashville to interview.  I’m not going to lie, I was pretty confident that the job was mine.  I mean, they had though of me and called me for goodness sake.  The interview went really well.  I already knew the person interviewing me and it just felt relaxed and I could be the best version of myself.  He said I would hear back really soon. So, even after the interview, I was confident.

The next morning, I went to one of my favorite coffee shops in the world (for real), Crema.  I would go there all the time when I lived there and also every time I would come back to visit.  I had interviewed to work there once before when I was a student, but hours and things just didn’t work out.  So, anyways that morning, one of the owners that I knew was there.  We chatted for a bit and I told her I was moving back down.  Immediately, she said “We’re hiring! Please apply!”.

Woah.

Totally taken aback.  I told her of my interview with the music business company but said I would most definitely consider it.  I mean, it’s like dream coffee shop.  So, then I started thinking and questioning why that interaction happened.  My wheels started to turn.

By last Friday, I still hadn’t heard back from the music business job and after an email, he said that I would hear by Monday.  Now, at this point, I was getting a little nervous.  If I had gotten the job, I think they would have just let me know last week.  But, I kept convincing myself that I was being paranoid about it and that no matter what, things were going to work out. Some way.

After feeling a bit uneasy about all of this, Crema was still in my mind.  So, on Sunday, I emailed them and asked if the job was still available but that I hadn’t heard back from the other job yet.  She said that it was and she would love to hold the position for me.  At this point, all signs were pointing toward staying in coffee, at least for now.  But, I still hadn’t officially heard back from the other job.

Yesterday afternoon, I finally got the call from the music business job.  I didn’t get it.  But, to tell you the truth, I wasn’t really that surprised from the events of the past couple days.  Of course, it didn’t feel awesome, but I knew that it was going to be alright.  They had interviewed someone with more experience and connections, and they were a better fit for the job.  There were no hard feelings and they are going to keep me in mind for the future.  I really do love that company and I do hope something works out in the future, but for now, it just wasn’t right for me.

I immediately emailed Crema back and said I wanted the job.  By last night, everything was finalized over the phone and I officially have a job at Crema in Nashville.  The only little downside is that right now, the position is not full time. There is a very good chance that it will turn into more soon, but as for right now, it’s just part time.

But, I feel confident about it all.  Things have worked out rather brilliantly in the grand scheme of things.  I am so excited to be able to work in specialty coffee.  I know it’s something that I love and enjoy.  Plus, I get to be at one of the coolest shop in the country, so that helps…

It’s definitely going to be bittersweet leaving my friends in West Lafayette and being far away from my family once again.  I have such an amazing community of people who truly care about me and love me and support me.  Not to mention make me laugh a whole lot.  I’ve met so many new friends this past year and I feel like I’ve known them a lifetime.  This place is special, and it always will be to me.  I’ve spent 3 1/2 years of my life here. But, it’s just time to leave again.  I don’t really know exactly why, but it feels right.

top:lafayette//bottom:nashville

So, it’s definitely not how I pictured my August going; uprooting my Indiana life and heading south again.  But, it’s just so perfect.  It’s funny how life works out like that.  God has never been truer in my life as he is right now.  It feels just wonderful.

4 thoughts on “re: relatively huge life changes

Leave a Reply

