music monday :: an all time favorite album…

It’s really hard for me to choose favorites of things.  Most of the time, I just change my mind too much and I never really an in love with the same thing for too long, so goes my love life as well [sad trombone].  Anyways, I’m trying to be more decisive lately and really picking out some favorite things and really sticking with them, through the good times and bad (just as I did with the band Hanson).

So, today, I wanted to share one of my all time favorite albums.  I actually just got it in April so hopefully it sticks.  But, I feel that it is so timeless that it can’t help but stick.

 Nashville 1969, The Nashville Skyline Outtakes 
by Johnny Cash and Bob Dylan

This album is special to me for a couple of reasons.  First, Nashville and its music industry will always mean a lot to me.  After spending time there in school for music business, I’ve come to really appreciate all that Nashville has done and will do for the industry.  Next, Bob Dylan is one of my absolute favorite artists of all time.  Just amazing.  If you’ve read any of my other music posts, you will see that folk music is a bit of an obsession.  He’s a father a folk music to me (Besides Woody Guthrie, of course).  Nothing else has to be said.  Another thing that Nashville brought out of me is my love for country music.  But, not the country music you are thinking of, I’m talking about real country music.  Hank Williams, Loretta Lynn, Merle Haggard, Waylon Jennings, and of course, Johnny Cash.

So, basically when you put Nashville, Bob Dylan, and Johnny Cash all together for one musical endeavor, it’s going to be just the best thing ever.

The album has both Dylan and Cash songs on it.  They sing them together and they usually are a different version than the original.  It’s just some serious musical magic.

I’m assuming it’s a bit rare because I can’t really find anywhere that sells it, so I am so glad that I found one in April on Record Store Day.  If you can get your hands on one, it’s definitely worth it.

One thought on “music monday :: an all time favorite album…

Leave a Reply

