hippie life :: oil cleansing method (OCM)

Lately, I’ve been looking for cost effective and natural ways to take care of my skin and body. I’ve already posted about my homemade deodorant, which seriously works wonders. (I’m never buying prepackaged deodorant ever again…) And now, I want to share a couple other homemade products.

First up, face wash.

I don’t have particularly bad skin, but it’s definitely far from perfect. I was reading up a bit on some homemade facial cleansers and here’s what I came up with:

It’s very simple.  Just mix half olive oil and half castor oil together and then add a few drops of tea tree essential oil, if you so desire.  Put it into your old cleaned out face wash dispenser and there you have it!

There’s a special routine you should go through when using this:

1.  Apply a quarter sized amount to a dry face.
2. Gently massage it in for about a minute.
3. Wet a wash cloth with hot water and put it over your face until it reaches room temperature.  This mini facial will help draw out the dirt and dead skin cells.
4. Wash out the cloth then gently wipe away the oil.

Now, you may be thinking, “What the heck?!  I’m not putting oil on my face!  That will make my breakout worse!”  Not true.  Oil doesn’t cause the breakouts, dirt and bacteria do.  To get all chemical on you, oil dissolves oil.  If you use the right oils, you cleanse your pores, not clog them! (source: http://www.acne.org)

The castor oil draws out dirt and other gunk from your pores. The EVOO is a brilliant moisturizer, helping heal and nourish the skin. Also, the tea tree oil is a natural antiseptic and helps clear up acne.  (source)

It’s pretty fantastic and I bet you already have olive oil around the house anyways.  Super cheap, super effective!

2 thoughts on “hippie life :: oil cleansing method (OCM)

  1. Hey! Your homemade stuff seems great, can’t wait to try! Just a thought for you! Those essential oils you are using that are from the health food stores, actually have chemicals in them! (bummer…I know) for more info check out the best oils around at http://www.younglivingoils.com I don’t sell them, I just believe in them!

  2. Pingback: natural living :: homemade acne toner and spot treatment | almost.overnight

Leave a Reply

