caffeine :: tattoo

So, some of you who don’t see me everyday have begun to see my newest tattoo in outfit photos and Instagrams, so I thought I should finally explain and share it.

This, my friends, is the chemical element of caffeine.  A bit geeky? Yes.  But, let’s be honest, I am quite the geek sometimes.

You probably have all figured out that I’m a but obsessed with coffee.  Not just the drink, but also the whole entire specialty coffee industry.  I’ve worked as a barista for about 4 years (not all of these coffee jobs I am proud of…).

It all started with Greyhouse Coffee in the Fall of 2008 (where I am back as a full time intern at now).  It had just opened and I worked full time until the end of that year.  I had always loved coffee but never had any idea of the specialty aspect of it.  I was hooked immediately.  I loved that the coffee industry was so closely tied to coffee producing countries.  In specialty coffee, many of the relationships are direct between the roaster and the farmers that grow it.  We all work together for a great end product.  It is just a really unique industry that I am in love with.

So, clearly coffee has been and is a huge part of my life.  And anything that means a lot to me will probably be tattoo worthy.  So, I knew I wanted a coffee tattoo, but wasn’t exactly sure how that would flesh out.  But, then I remembered that one of my friends sent me a card with the chemical structure of caffeine on it.  I knew that was it.  For those of you who don’t know, I studied pharmacy for 2 years before switching to something else, so the chemistry related coffee tattoo makes a little more sense.

I just love the clean look and the straight lines.  Plus, it makes me look pretty smart, right?  Not many people have chemistry on the wrists!  It’s so amusing for people to try and guess what structure it is.  But, mostly I think that people think I’m crazy for putting this chemistry on my arm, and I’m ok with that.

One thought on “caffeine :: tattoo

Leave a Reply

