{travel journal} mount wroclai (idle days)

My last day abroad. Tomorrow at this time, I will be back in Chicago only reminiscing of what seemed like a dream.

I didn’t do anything crazy today, just kind I an ‘idle’ day soaking up as much as I could of Barcelona.

After sleeping in for the first time, I set out to explore around my hostel in La Zona Alta. It is residential area up in the hills do it feels a lot more relaxing and quaint. I had a small “desayuno” at a panadería near my hostel. I wandered up to a park at the top of a hill and then relaxed ad read some Fitzgerald (Tender is the Night) whilst lying in a hammock. Just a really relaxing morning.

I finally set out for the center of town again. I ate at this wonderful little place that was a Catalan twist on paninis that I managed to find. Then, I set out for the El Raval neighborhood in search of a couple old gothic churches.

20120508-231714.jpg

Then, I found myself in Parc de la Ciutadella, a nice little park with a little pond and a zoo and plenty of space for sitting and basking in the Spanish sun.

20120508-231541.jpg

After resting a bit more, I walked back into the old town, Barri Gotic to grab some chocolate caliente (hot chocolate). But, this is not the lassie watery gross hot chocolate you think of in America. It’s like chocolate that was melted with milk. So thick and creamy and wonderful. I’m glad I only tried it on my last day so I wouldn’t gain 25 pounds from drinking it 12 times a day.

Finally, I ended my night at a Spanish cooking class. We learned the ins and outs of paella, tapas, and sangria. However, the brochure promised us a recipe and that we never got. Anyhow, I have a few tricks up my sleeve now, especially for sangria. Anyways, the class started off with a walk through the main market, La Boqueria where we bought fresh seafood for the paella and also had the freshest juice I have ever tasted (pineapple mango).

20120508-232025.jpg

I met two wonderful girls who I chatted with all evening as we ate tapas and paella. It’s so encouraging to meet people who think the same way you do, more or less. It’s one of the best things about traveling for sure. It was the perfect way to spend my last night in Spain.

Todos estuve bien, España. Gracias por todos.

Leave a Reply

