{travel journal} vagabond

vagabond – Noun:
A person who wanders from place to place without a home or job.
Adjective:
Having no settled home.
Verb:
Wander about as or like a vagabond.

It’s getting to those days were I feel like a vagabond; just by myself trying to conquer the world or rather maybe just Barcelona, or maybe just conquering myself. But either way, it’s thrilling.

Today was a day full of Antonio Gaudi, who is not only known worldwide, but is a Catalan artist which is why everything here is full of his work.

First was La Sagrada Familia, a church still being built even after his death. It in one of the most amazing things I have seen. Just brilliant. Words can’t describe, you will just have to see it for yourself. There are 3 facades. One depicting the nativity or birth of Christ, one of the passion of Christ, and one that is still very much in progress, the glory of Christ.

20120507-220846.jpg

20120507-220931.jpg

20120507-220949.jpg

20120507-221002.jpg

Looking up at the inside ceiling, it is supposed to resemble a forest. Gaudi is very influenced by nature and incorporates a lot of it into his work. I actually took a few videos of the church, but WordPress won’t let me put them on here unless I have an upgrade :(.

Anyways, after my time marveling La Sagrada Familia, I walked around the l’eixample neighborhood, which is heavily influenced by Gaudi. He designed many apartment blocks and lived in one here as well. I splurged for lunch at a wonderful little cafe and had the plate of the day, filet mignon. It was heavenly. I had just their house red wine and it tasted like berries (for my Tim and Eric fans out there: sweet berry wine anyone?). It was a bit pricey for me (but really reasonable for what I got) but I’m glad I took the plunge.

Then, was a pleasant walk down to the beach. I didn’t have a towel or anything but I plopped right down in my dress and slept and read the afternoon away. It was one of the most relaxing times of the trip. It’s I was wandering back to La Rambla to get a free dinner (score for hostel promotions), a handsome Spanish fellow more or less told me he saw me waking on the beach earlier and that I was very pretty. Surprisingly I understood what he saying, but definitely taken aback a bit. I was flattered nonetheless. But I got out of there quickly just in case he was looking for more…

After my free dinner and sangria, I decided to turn in early to the hostel. I’m just enjoying the beautiful night on the rooftop. Please don’t let it end!

Leave a Reply

