Wanderlust Wednesday :: Nashville, TN, USA

This week, I decided to highlight a city that I have been to and actually lived in. It was really fun to put this post together and take a look at all my favorite places.

I lived in this wonderful city for almost 3 years and I have grown to love it with all of my heart. It was really hard to love it at first because I felt alone, but it has grown into a city where I feel welcome and surrounded by love. I just wanted to share some of my favorite things about Nashville so you can see why it’s one of the best places to be.


First, Nashville is Music City, USA… and that’s not just country music either. It’s the songwriting capital of the world also. Sure New York and L.A. may have bigger music scenes but Nashville is ONLY music. The city lives and breathes music and keeps it alive. It’s one thing that I so appreciate about the city (even though it sometimes is very overwhelming… everyone comes down here to try and “make it”). Nashville, keep up that music scene of yours. Rolling Stone wrote an article about Nashville’s music scene that’s pretty swell.

12th & Porter

Ryman Auditorium

The Basement

Red Barn Roundup

Nashville has so many little (not so) hidden gems of places around town. A couple of my favorite neighborhoods are right near where I live. There’s just so many great places to eat and also explore.


12South Neighborhood

This is the neighborhood that I lived in, so it hold a place dear to my heart. There are so many great places to eat and walk to. It’s only about a 5 minute drive to the center of downtown also, so it’s a great location.

Sevier Park. A wonderful place for a walk or a picnic. (Or sledding the one time it snowed…)

12South Taproom. Great beer and amazing food.

Burger Up. Local, fresh food that cant be beat. (sara‘s instagram)

Frothy Monkey. One of my favorite coffee places, mostly for the atmosphere. I spent countless hours here doing homework and meeting up with friends. Also, you are 102% guaranteed to find many of Nashville’s finest hipsters here.

Hillsboro Village

Not far from 12South, Hillsboro Village is another little neighborhood that I love to spend time in. It’s a little more “upscale” with more boutiques, but there is still great charm here.

Bookman/Bookwoman used bookstore. A wonderful place to spend any afternoon.

Jackson’s Bar and Bistro. Great place to have a nice dinner with friends. Most famously known for it’s cookie dough egg rolls. To die for.

Fido. A blend between a coffee house and a restaurant. I love the window and outdoor seating right on the sidewalk.

Downtown

I don’t really love downtown. You can probably find out the most about it when you google Nashville anyways I just wanted to share my favorite spot downtown and you can find out about the rest on the city of Nashville’s website… haha

Robert’s Western World. This place is fabulous. It’s really the only bar downtown that I ever really wanted to go to. They play old country, real country music from the 50s and 60s, when country was awesome. There’s a tiny little dance floor in front of the stage and precious old couples dance their little country couples dances. It’s a great environment and just feels “Nashville”.

Places that must be mentioned!

Crema. The best coffee in town hands down. They actually just started roasting for themselves! They work really hard to keep their coffee quality high and also to educate their customers through classes. It’s such a wonderful place.

Mas Tacos. Nashville’s newest obsession is food trucks. My favorite is Mas Tacos, which now has a physical location as well. It is also one of my favorite places to eat in the whole city. Their tacos taste so fresh unique. I love the flavors they put together.

1604 S. 8th Street. This whole building holds a special place in my heart. 4 levels of amazing. The bottom level is a music venue called ‘The Basement’, where there is a great mix of new and established acts that come play. The middle level is Grimey’s, my favorite record store. The top 2 levels are Thirty Tigers, the music business company that I worked for and loved. Needless to say, I have spent many, many hours in this wonderful building.

So there you have it, my take on Nashville. Even if I never live there again, it will always hold a very special place in my life. The first time I ever really moved away and started over.

2 thoughts on “Wanderlust Wednesday :: Nashville, TN, USA

  1. Great post! I live in Nashville and it is always great to come across someone else that loves it as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

