Spotlight Sunday :: {Newport Folk Festival}

I have never been to a big music festival before.

I was seriously considering Bonnaroo (which I will probably make it to at some point in my life). But, it was a bit expensive and I wasn’t exactly sure who I would go with.  So many great bands and artists are going to be playing at Bonnaroo, but I was just a little hesitant.


But, alas, the Newport Folk Festival has won my heart. I am in love with at least 87.3% of the bands that are going to be playing there.  Plus, a handful of artists that I worked with at Thirty Tigers are going to be playing as well (Jonny Corndawg, The Apache Relay, Ben Sollee, Trampled by Turtles)!

I’m going with my bestie (of course), Sara (of Sara December Rose).  We are going to be driving out there at the end of July and I couldn’t be more excited.

If you read my 24 before 25, you will see that some of my goals are to visit a new state (which will be Rhode Island) and see a great live show.  So, this wonderful festival will help me check some things off of my list.

So, back to the line up.  Seriously, so perfect.  First Aid Kit (one of my most favorite bands at the moment), Punch Brothers, Tallest Man on Earth, Sharon Van Etten, Iron & Wine, Blind Pilot, My Morning Jacket, The Head & The Heart… just a few of the ones I’m super excited about.  But, really, I’m excited about all of them.

And to make it even better, it’s right on the harbor in Newport.  So so magical.

So, if you want to hear so many amazing bands in one place, you should definitely purchase some tickets and get yourself over to Rhode Island.

One thought on “Spotlight Sunday :: {Newport Folk Festival}

Leave a Reply

