Happy 1st Birthday ‘Live What You Love’! (+ an intentional blogging hiatus)

Exactly one year ago today on January 17, 2011, I made my very first blog post to the world.  It was something that I had been thinking about doing for a while after following a some blogs for a couple months.  For some reason, I was kind of scared to start.  I wanted it to be really inspiring and amazing and perfect from the beginning.  I was comparing myself to bloggers that had been established for years.  After creating my 23 before 24 list, one of which was to start a blog, I finally just decided to jump in.

I knew my blog wasn’t going to be pretty or perfect and that was a hard step for me to get past.  I am very much a perfectionist, but it’s something I’m slowly starting to let go of.  Starting this blog helped me more than I imagined.  The first month or two was a little rough.  I didn’t really have a focus or plan for the blog, I just wanted to share my life and hopefully inspire others.  I started posting my outfits by taking photos with my camera balanced on it’s side because I didn’t have a tripod.  My ISO was set way too high and the composition wasn’t the greatest.  I look back on some of these photos and think about taking them down, but it shows where I started and where I am now. (Disclaimer: I am by no means a “photographer”.  All I know is learned heavily from other people.)

This blog has definitely been a learning process.  I have discovered much about myself that I never would have dug up if I hadn’t started writing.  I love the challenge of making events or photos into blog posts that will perhaps spark the interest of someone else. However, I have learned that you cannot write based solely on what other people want to hear  It has to be genuine.  It has to be you.  

I have learned to express myself in new ways.  I have learned how to be myself even when this blog only allows for me to show a small piece of who I am.  It’s been therapeutic.

With that being said, I want to continue to improve and further my blog.  I was gifted the e-course “Blog Love” from Red Velvet Art and it has been so helpful in this process.  However, this also means that I need to step back for a bit and work on the redesign of it.  I’m going to try and focus on 3 areas that I love and then throw in other topics on the side.

I’m not sure how long it will be before the whole thing feels ready to show the world.  I’m going to try to make the hiatus as short as I can because I dearly miss blogging!


Thanks for reading my crazy thoughts for the past year.  I hope I haven’t scared you away (yet) 😉

as always, live what you love.

One thought on “Happy 1st Birthday ‘Live What You Love’! (+ an intentional blogging hiatus)

  1. Pingback: two thousand and twelve in review | Live What You Love

Leave a Reply

