an irish blessing // DIY project

So, ever since I have returned from Ireland, I basically can’t stop thinking about it. So, I turned this mild obsession into creativity and a simple little art project! Every once in a while, I get an itch to do something crafty.  I’ve been like this as long as I can remember, making crafts like paper purses and a yarn for a strap when I was a little girl.  So, this is what turned out from my itch this time…

This is one of my favorite Irish blessings and I have wanted to put it up on my wall in some way. It’s such a beautiful little verse.  The wooden piece is the front of a broken drawer on my dresser (which is the cheapest piece of furniture ever… oh well, one less thing to move back).  I had been saving them for some kind of project, so I was really glad that I actually put this one to use!

I just printed the text out on graph paper (my favorite… also to give it a little texture) and mod podged them to the drawer.  It looks a little sloppy and creasy, but I like that it isn’t perfect… gives it some character!  I wanted to add something a little more than just text, so I found a pretty celtic knot to print out as well.

The whole project probably only took 35 or 40 minutes so it was a quick little thing.  It will for sure be hanging on my wall shortly!

live what you love.

Leave a Reply

