tattoo::surrender

So, when I got my first tattoo in January 2009, I didn’t post it all over Facebook like I would for anything else.  I guess I was just sick of seeing blurry close up pictures of new tattoos and I wanted to keep it semi-private.  Anyways, the other day when I was taking outfit photos, I decided to photograph this tattoo for the first time.  I feel like posting it here on my blog makes it a little more personal because I feel like I can explain what it means to me a little better.

I got this tattoo right before I made one of the biggest transitions in my life, moving to Nashville, TN.  During the summer of 2008, I was in my first summer as a camp counselor at SpringHill Camps.  It was one of the most influential summer in my life and it’s when I decided that my life wasn’t going the way I wanted it to.  I quit Purdue that summer and then took the whole next semester off from school and decided what the next step in my life should be.  During that semester and summer, I just had to totally surrender my entire life and desires to God because I clearly had no idea what the heck I was doing.  After that crazy bittersweet semester of great times and goodbyes, I learned that I couldn’t try to plan out my whole life on my own.  I had to let it go and let the Maker take control.

My tattoo is also a daily reminder to me to constantly be aware that my life is not my own.  I can tend to be a control freak and want to do everything for myself, not letting anyone help me.  So, you can imagine that surrendering something as important as my life is hard to totally give to God.  It’s something that I constantly have to be working on every single day.

So, here’s some more photos of my tat…

I have ideas for at least 3 more tattoos but alas, I am a poor young girl.  Let me just say that tattoos are very addicting… and I also find them so beautiful.

live what you love ❤

3 thoughts on “tattoo::surrender

  1. I completely understand and have the same issues, but I continue to everyday pray have hope and continure to seek God…..

  2. I love it. I’ve actually been thinking of getting the exact same tattoo…did a google images search and yours came up. It’s beautiful!

Leave a Reply

