“what are you doing this weekend?”

I hate that question.  This one question can provide so much stress for no reason at all.

There is so much pressure on the weekend.  People never ask, “Hey! What are you doing this Wednesday”.  Because for some reason, Wednesday doesn’t matter as much as the weekend.  No one cares what you do on a Wednesday.

I never thought much about this question until I moved to Tennessee and I knew exactly 3 people.  I would hear people ask each other, “What are you doing this weekend?”.  And all I could think about was what I WASN’T doing that weekend… and I would freak out.  “Why don’t I have any friends to hang out with?  No one likes me. I’m useless”  All of those thoughts would be swirling around in my head and I couldn’t get them to shut up.

So, I popped in my Gilmore Girls DVDs and they became my weekend night friends.  They were always there for me and were never too bust to hang out.  But, I digress…

Anyways, all that to say I hate that the weekends have so much pressure.  I am so blessed to have an amazing group of friends now here in Nashville and I don’t worry so much about the weekends anymore.  But, when I didn’t have the opportunity to hang out with anyone because I didn’t know anyone, I always felt like I was missing out on something huge.  Turns out, I probably wasn’t.  I’ve always been blessed with amazing friends, even if they weren’t always close to me.  I have always been loved, even if I haven’t felt like it.  I’ve grown so so much since I moved here 27 months ago… but that’s a completely different story…

 

Here’s to awesome Wednesdays. But, no pressure…

3 thoughts on ““what are you doing this weekend?”

Leave a Reply

