hippie life :: homemade deodorant

For some reason, I get made fun of for wanting to wear natural deodorant.  I’m sorry that I don’t want to clog my skin up with harmful chemicals that mimic estrogen and screw up your hormones and have been linked to breast cancer and alzheimer’s.  So anyways, off of my high horse…

I know it sounds very “boho” or “hippie” of me to want to start making my own deodorant, but I have not found ANYTHING natural that really works.  I’ve tried a couple different brands like TOMS and Jason’s, but they all leave me feeling gross and stinky.  So, this is my last resort.

I’ve been researching a couple different recipes and settled on one that seemed easy and effective.  Baking soda  helps prevent the odors naturally while the cornstarch mellows it out so that it’s not irritating.   The coconut oil allows it to be applied like a “normal” deodorant and also has antibacterial properties.

Guys, it seriously works amazing.  You still sweat a bit but there is no odor.  At all.  I really didn’t think it was going to work as well as it did.

The ingredients are simple and you probably already have half of them in your pantry.

Before you start, clean out an old store bought deodorant container.

Ingredients:

1/4 c. baking soda
1/4 c. cornstarch
5 T coconut oil (which you can buy at any grocery store)
essential oil (optional)

Mix the baking soda and cornstarch together in a small bowl.

Add the coconut oil.  Coconut oil has a melting point of 76 degrees.  So, most likely you will have to microwave it for a bit to liquify it so that it will mix with the dry ingredients.

Add 5-6 drops of essential oil if you want it to be scented.  I chose tea tree oil because it has antibacterial properties and that’s good for helping with the bacteria under your arms.  It’s not my favorite scent, but we’re going for function here.  Lavender also has antibacterial properties.

Spoon your mixture into your old deodorant container.  Work fast because the coconut oil solidifies quickly and makes it hard to spoon it in.  After I got all of it in, I stuck it in the fridge for a bit just to make sure it all hardened.

And that’s all!  It’s super simple and you can feel good about the stuff you are putting on your body.

Have any of you tried to make any other natural products?

3 thoughts on “hippie life :: homemade deodorant

  1. OK so I love this idea but I don’t think I would ever do it…. if you start selling it, let me know….umm seriously.
    :)

  2. Pingback: natural skin care :: DIY | Live What You Love

Leave a Reply

